Graduate Program Faculty

There are currently 49 researchers in the graduate program of environmental sciences and include faculty from ITES, the Department of Biology, the Department of Chemistry, the Institute of Neurobiology, and others. To download the complete list, click here.

Appendix B. Current faculty members of the Environmental Science Graduate Program (January 2014). Check the Environmental Science website for an up to date list. Faculty marked with an * are associate faculty – see Program Regulations for details their participation on Student Advisory Committees.

 

NAME

EMAIL ADDRESS

DEGREE AND SPECIALTY

AFFILIATION

RESEARCH AREA

 

James Ackerman

ackerman.upr@gmail.com

Ph.D. Taxonomy, plant ecology

UPR-RP Biology

Plant ecology, taxonomy, invasive plants

 

T. Mitchell Aide

tmaide@yahoo.com

Ph.D. Community ecology

UPR-RP Biology

Community ecology, socio-ecology

 

Rafael Arce

scoreupr@gmail.com

Ph.D. Physical chemistry

UPR-RP Chemistry

Photochemistry of atmospheric pollutants

 

Paul Bayman

bayman.upr@gmail.com

Ph.D. Botany

UPR-RP Biology

Mycology, plant pathology, biodiversity, secondary metabolism

 

Maritza Barreto*

maritzabarretoorta@gmail.com

Ph.D. Oceanography

UPR-RP Geography

Coastal and beach geomorphology, and risk processes

 

Jorge Bauza*

oceanus.bauza@gmail.com

Ph.D. Marine Sciences

Scientific Director The San Juan Bay Estuary Program

Water quality, Benthic mapping, aquatic ecosystem restoration

 

Nicholas Brokaw

nvbrokaw@ites.upr.edu

Ph.D. Tropical forest ecology

UPR-RP Environmental Sciences

Forest ecology

 

Carlos Cabrera

carlos.cabrera2@upr.edu

Ph.D. Analytical Chemistry

UPR-Molecular Sciences Building

Nanotechnology

 

Patricia Burrowes

paburrowes@uprrp.edu

Ph.D. Ecology, herpetology

UPR-RP Biology

Amphibian population dynamics

 

Nestor Carballiera

nmcarballeira@uprrp.edu

Ph.D. Biochemistry

UPR-RP Chemistry

Lipid chemistry, marine natural products

 

Clifford Louime

clifford.louime@upr.edu

Ph.D. Environmental Sciences

UPR-RP Environmental Sciences

Sustainable Production of Biofuels

 

Elvira Cuevas

epcuevas@gmail.com

Ph.D. Ecosystem Ecology

UPR-RP Biology

Terrestrial ecosystem processes, plant/soil interactions, nutrient cycling, and plant eco-physiology

 

José A. Dumas-Rodríguez*

jose_dumas@eea.uprm.edu

Ph.D. Analytical chemistry

UPR-RUM Experimental Sta. (Rio Piedras)

Organic, analytical, and environmental chemistry

 

Liz Díaz Vazquéz

lizvazquez8@gmail.com

Ph.D. Analytical chemistry

UPR-RP Chemistry

Semi-volatile pollutants in human sebum

 

Zomary Flores

zomary.flores@gmail.com

Ph.D. Microbiology

UPR-RP Biology

Bacterial genetics, symbiosis, host-microbe interactions, oxidative stress

 

Qiong Gao

shiqun.gao@gmail.com

Ph.D. Agriculture Engineering

UPR-RP Environmental Sciences

Ecosystem Modeling

 

Tugrul Giray

tgiray2@yahoo.com

Ph.D. Animal behavior

UPR-RP Biology

Animal behavior (bees)

 

Griselle González *

ggonzalez@fs.fed.us

Ph.D. Ecology

International Institute of Tropical Forestry (USDA)

Soil ecology

William Gould*

wgould@fs.fed.us

Ph.D. Landscape ecology

International Institute of Tropical Forestry (USDA)

Landscape ecology

Kai H. Griebenow

kai.griebenow@gmail.com

Ph.D. Biochemistry

UPR-RP Chemistry

Structure of proteins, bio-remediation, eco-physiology of marine marco- and micro-algae, bio-nanotechnology

Edwin Hernández*

coral_giac@yahoo.com

Ph.D. Marine ecology

UPR-RP Biology

Reef and coral ecosystems

Heera Lal Janwa

hjanwa@gmail.com

Ph.D. Mathematics

UPR-RP Mathematics

Coding theory; discrete mathematics, cryp- tography, number theory and algebraic geometry, bioinformatics, and ecological informatics.

Rafael L. Joglar

rjoglar@uprrp.edu

Ph.D. Ecology, herpetology

UPR-RP Biology

Herpetology

D. Jean Lodge*

djlode@caribe.net

Ph.D. Mycology

Forest Products Laboratory, USDA Forest Service

Mycology, phylogenetics, nutrient cycling

Ariel Lugo*

alugo@fs.fed.us

Ph.D. Tropical ecology

International Institute of Tropical Forestry (USDA)

Tropical forest ecology

Bruno Marie*

brunomariemail@gmail.com

Ph.D. Biochemistry

Institute of Neurobiology, UPR

Cellular / molecular biology, biochemistry, neuroscience

Mariano Marcano

mmarcano@uprrp.edu

Ph.D. Applied mathematics and modeling

UPR-RP Mathematics

Numeric systems, linear and non-linear system optimization, mathematical modeling

Gustavo A. Martínez*

tavomarti@hotmail.com

Ph.D. Soil chemistry

UPR-RUM Crop and Agro-environmental Science

Applied soil chemistry, limnology

Steve Massey

stevemassey@gmail.com

Ph.D. Biochemistry

UPR-RP Biology

Bioinformatics

Olga Mayol-Bracero

omayol@ites.upr.edu

Ph.D. Analytical chemistry

UPR-RP Institute of Tropical Ecosystems

Atmospheric Chemistry and Aerosols

William McDowell*

bill.mcdowell@unh.edu

Ph.D. Aquatic ecology

University of New Hampshire

Limnology, watershed ecology

Mark W. Miller*

mark.miller@upr.edu

Ph.D. Neurobiology

Institute of Neurobiology, UPR

Comparative neurobiology, environmental neurobiology

Ernesto Medina*

medinage@gmail.com

Ph.D. Agronomy

Instituto Venezolano de Investigaciones Científicas

Tropical plant ecophysiology

Elvia Meléndez-Ackerman

elmelend@gmail.com

Ph.D. Plant ecology

UPR-RP Institute of Tropical Ecosystems

Endangered species, Conservation, Social-ecological Research

Gabriel Moreno

gmviquiera@prtc.net

Ph.D. Ecology and Evolution

UPR-RP Biology

Sustainable Cities, Environmental Design

Jorge Ortiz

jorgeortiz.ites@gmail.com

Ph.D. Hydrology

UPR-RP Institute of Tropical Ecosystems

Limnology, Hydrology

Luis R. Pericchi

luispericchi@yahoo.com

Ph.D. Statistics and applied mathematics

UPR-RP Mathematics

Statistics and mathematical modeling

Alonso Ramírez

aramirez@ramirezlab.net

Ph.D. Limnology

UPR-RP Institute of Tropical Ecosystems

Aquatic ecology

Carla Restrepo

crestre@hpcf.upr.edu

Ph.D. Landscape ecology

UPR-RP Biology

Landscape ecology, landslides

Luis A. Ríos-Hernández*

luis.rios5@upr.edu

Ph.D. Microbiology

UPR-RUM Biology

Biofilm communities, biodegradation, phylogenetics

Rafael Ríos

rafaelrios00936@yahoo.com

Ph.D. Environmental health engineering

UPR-RP Environmental Sciences

Water Treatment and Pollution Control

Loretta Roberson

loretta.roberson@gmail.com

Ph.D. Marine ecology

UPR-RP Biology

Anthropogenic Impacts on Coastal Marine Communities

Mario Rodriguez*

mrodriquez@rcm.upr.edu

Ph. D. Ind.-Org. Psychology

UPR-RM Public Health

Organizational behavior, health services planning and evaluation, environmental health

Osvaldo Rosario

rosario_o@msn.com

Ph.D. Organic chemistry

UPR-RP Chemistry

Methods in analysis of environmental pollutants, air pollution analysis, bioaccumulation of pollutants

Joshua J.C. Rosenthal*

rosenthal.joshua@gmail.com

Ph.D. Biology

Institute of Neurobiology, UPR

Neurobiology, environmental neurobiology

Alberto Sabat

amsabat@gmail.com

Ph.D. Biology

UPR-RP Biology

Population and marine ecology

Luis Santiago*

luis.santiago47@upr.edu

Ph.D. Planning

UPR-RP Planning

Environmental Economy, Environmental Planning

Victor A. Snyder*

victor.snyder@upr.edu

Ph.D. Soil physics

UPR-RUM Agronomy

Effects of soil physical environment on crop production, micro-irrigation

Gary A. Toranzos

gatoranzos@uprrp.edu

Ph.D. Environmental virology

UPR-RP Biology

Environmental microbiology

Steven N. Treistman*

steven.treistman@upr.edu

Ph.D. Neurobiology

Institute of Neurobiology, UPR

Neurobiology, environmental neurobiology

Joseph Wunderle*

jmwunderle@gmail.com

Ph.D. Ecology

International Institute of Tropical Forestry (USDA)

Avian ecology and management

Joseph H. Vogel*

josephvogel@usa.net

Ph.D. Economics

UPR-RP Economics

Environmental economics

Mei Yu

meiyupr@yahoo.com

Ph.D. Spatial analysis, modeling

UPR-RP Institute of Tropical Ecosystems

Environmental spatial analysis, GIS and remote sensing

Guillermo A. Yudowski*

gyudowski@gmail.com

Ph.D. Biochemistry

Institute of Neurobiology, UPR

Neurobiology, environmental neurobiology

Jess K. Zimmerman

jesskz@ites.upr.edu

Ph.D. Plant ecology

UPR-RP Institute of Tropical Ecosystems

Plant communities and response to disturbances

Steven Zottoli*

steven.j.zottoli@williams.edu

Ph.D. Physiology

Eugene Bell Center for Regenerative Biology, Woods Hole, MA

Marine Physiology

Xiaoming Zou

xzou2000@yahoo.com

Ph.D. Forest ecology

UPR-RP Institute of Tropical Ecosystems

Soil nutrients and biogeochemical cycles