Below is the full list of Associated Faculty of the IGERT Program. Please review this list with the official list of your primary department to determine who can be your primary advisor.
Click on the faculty name for a link to their web page.

NAME

AFFILIATION

RESEARCH INTEREST

EMAIL

Alberto Sabat

UP-RP Biology

population and marine ecology

amsabat@gmail.com

Alonso Ramírez

UPR-RP ITES

aquatic ecology

alonso_ites@gmail.com

Angel D. Cruz

UPR-RP Geography

economic geography

angeldavid.cruz@gmail.com

Ariel Lugo

International Institute for Tropical Forestry (USDA)

Tropical Forest Ecology

alugo@fs.fed.us

Carla Restrepo

UPR-RP Biology

landscape ecology,  landslides

crestre@hpcf.upr.edu

Carlos J. Guilbe

UPR-RP Geography

Urban geography

Carmen M. Concepción

Inst. for Social Research

environmental planning

cmconcepcion@uprrp.edu

Cecilio Ortiz García

UPR-RP School of Public Admin.

society/environment interface

Cecilio.ortiz@upr.edu

Criseida Navarro-Díaz

UPR-RP School of Planning

Urban Design

criseida.navarro@gmail.com

David Pijawka

Arizona State University, School of Planning

environmental planning

pijawka@asu.edu

David Román

UPR-RP DECEP

environmental law

d.roman@upr.edu

Edgardo Resto

UPR-RP Physical sciences

Edwin Hernández

UPR-RP Biology

Reef and Coral Ecosystems

coral_giac@yahoo.com

Elvia Meléndez-Ackerman

UPR-RP ITES

Population ecology and biodiversity

elmelend@gmail.com

Elvira Cuevas

UPR-RP Biology

terrestrial ecosystems processes, plat/soil interactions, nutrient cycling and plant ecophysiology

epcuevas@gmail.com

Gabriel Moreno

UPR-RP Interdisciplinary Science

urban sustainability

gmviqueira@gmail.com

Gary Toranzos

UPR-RP Biology

environmental microbiology

gatoranzos@uprrp.edu

Gerardo Morell

UPR-RP Physics

gerardo.morell@upr.edu

Heeralal Janwa

UPR-RP Mathematics

bioinformatics, modeling

hjanwa@gmail.com

Humberto Cavallín

UPR-RP Architecture

design theory, methods

hcavallin@uprrp.edu

Indira Luciano

UPR-RP Economics

regional economics

inlumo@yahoo.com

James Ackerman

UP-RP Biology

Plant ecology, taxonomy and invasive plants

ackerman.upr@gmail.com

Jess K. Zimmerman

UPR-RP ITES

natural/human systems, Plant communities and response to disturbance

jesskz@ites.upr.edu

Jorge Ortiz

UPR-RP ITES

hydrology

jorgeortiz.ites@gmail.com

Joseph Henry Vogel

UPR-RP Economics

environmental economics

josephvogel@usa.net

Loretta Roberson

UPR-RP Environmental Sciences

Marine plant ecophysiology

loretta.roberson@gmail.com

Luis R. Pericchi

UPR-RP Mathematics

Statistics and mathematical modeling

luispericchi@yhaoo.com

María Cruz-Torres

Arizona State University, Women and Gender Studies

anthropology-coastal communities

Maria.Cruz-Torres@asu.edu

Maria del Pilar Perez Lugo

Sociology (UPR-RUM)

ecological sociology

marla.perez2@upr.edu

María Eglée Pérez

UPR-RP Mathematics

Statistics and applied mathematics

meglee@uprrp.edu

María Gloria Domínguez

UPR-RP Biology

enteric microbial ecology

maria.dominquez1@upr.edu

Maria Vilches

mvilches@suagm.edu

Mariano Marcano

UPR-RP Computer Sciences

Numeric analysis, linear and non-linear system optimization,mathematical modeling

mmarcano@uprrp.edu

Mario Rodríguez

Pub. Health (UPR-RCM)

organizational behavior, health services planning and evaluation

mrodriguez@rcm.upr.edu

Maritza Barreto

UPR-RP Geography

coastal resources

maritzabarretoorta@gmail.com

Mei Yu

UPR-RP ITES

landscape modeling, Environmental spatial analysis, GIS and remote sensing

meiyu@ites.upr.edu

Nicholas Brokaw

UPR-RP ITES

forest ecology

nvbrokaw@ites.upr.edu

Olga Mayol-Bracero

UPR-RP ITES

atmospheric chemistry

omayol@ites.upr.edu

Osvaldo Rosario

UPR-RP Chemistry

Methods in analysis of environmental pollutants, air pollutant analysis and bioaccumulation of polutants

rosario_o@msn.com

Patricia Burrowes

UPR-RP Biology

Amphibian population dynamics

paburrowes@uprrp.edu

Paul Bayman

UPR-RP Biology

mycology, plant pathalogy, biodiversity, secondary metabolism

bayman.upr@gmail.com

Rafael A. Rios Davila

UPR-RP Environmental Sciences

environmental engineering

rafaelrios00936@yahoo.com

Rafael Arce

UPR-RP Chemistry

Photochemistry of atmospheric pollutants

scoreupr@gmail.com

Rafael Joglar

UPR-RP Biology

herpetology

rjoglar@uprrp.edu

Thomas Mitchell Aide

UPR-RP Biology

Tropical plant ecology, restoration ecology, global ecology, socioecology

tmaide@yahoo.com

Tugrul Giray

UPR-RP Biology

Animal behavior (bees)

tgiray2@yahoo.com

Vance Vicente

Consultant

Tropical island marine resources

vance@prtc.net

William Gould

International Institute for Tropical Forestry (USDA FS)

Landscape ecology

wgould@fs.fed.us

William McDowell

Univ. of New Hampshire, Natural Resources

ecosystem ecology

Bill.McDowell@unh.edu

Xiaoming Zou

UPR-RP ITES

soil nutrients and biogeochemical cycles

xzou2000@yahoo.com

Yogani Govender

Post-Doc CATEC, now with Fideicomiso de Conservacion

Ecosystem Process and Function

yoganig@yahoo.com